Skip to content

Sucking on the public tit.

November 23, 2014

As an Unley Councillor I have to take great care to ensure that I am not in breach of the code of conduct which governs Local Government.

For example: I receive two complimentary tickets each year to the Royal Show, which, of course, takes place within the boundaries of the City of Unley. And once every two years I am feted with a luncheon.

Under the strictures of ICAC, the anti-corruption body set up in the last year or so, I have to record this gift among others I might have received in carrying out my civic duties. Not for the face value of the tickets (which I rarely if ever use) but by the number of days on which I could theoretically have used them!

Fair enough.

But can someone out there PLEASE  tell me how an economic expert who has said that the State Government is wasting money by supporting our car industry can (with a straight face) bill the taxpayers for regular expensive meals and $124 bottles of wine.

This gentleman has, “The Advertiser” reports, claimed almost $40,000 in two months for expenses. Not that he has been selfish in this action though, sharing his honeypot with lucky waiters who pocket $50 tips!

Maybe I’m alone in considering  this as ludicrous, unbelievable and unacceptable.

But somehow I don’t think so…

And I contend that  I am somewhere near the truth when I bail up overseas tourists outside Parliament House to ask them  why they are photographing a lunatic asylum.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

