Skip to content

PRIVACY INVADED

February 23, 2015

Did you know that when you innocently send me some “snailmail” addressed to PO Box 1, Unley, the envelope is opened and the contents scanned by  the Council’s administration? Even if the envelope is clearly marked private and confidential?

No? I didn’t think you did. But beware. In a flagrant but apparently entirely legal breach of privacy, that is EXACTLY what happens. And it stinks (as I put it baldly to  Council at its meeting tonight, February 23rd).

I am not the only elected member appalled by this situation, which I brought to the attention of all concerned some months ago. Now, however, in light of the problems that this practice has caused this week in relation to the sensitive situation of the finances surrounding the contentious issue of flood mitigation on the Brownhill Keswick Creek, I believe the time has come for affirmative action. A view supported by some of my council colleagues..(More of that later).

This is not the first time I have raised this issue.

And it won’t be the last.

Bring it on!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

