Skip to content

“Marriage” misapprehension.

June 8, 2015

Seems my  burst into verse re same-sex liaisons has caused unnecessary angst for one Parkside partnership.

It’s blindingly simple, fellers! It’s not your relationship that irks me. Frankly, and rightly,  I really couldn’t care less about your domestic situation. And the best of luck.

I just think that “marriage” should stay true to the original meaning.

Get over it!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sally permalink
    June 8, 2015 2:28 pm

    I hope I don’t upset you Councillor Hudson, but I am a lesbian.
    As such, I have fairly thick skin and don’t get upset by bush poetry about gays and marriage.
    Actually, I’ve discussed long term union with my partner.
    Marriage is just not for us. It probably wouldn’t be if we were straight.
    So I am inclined to agree that marriage is for a man and woman. That tradition should remain. Perhaps we should come up with an alternative term for legal union of gays.

    Like

    • cllrmikehudson permalink*
      June 8, 2015 3:34 pm

      What’s to be upset about, Sally? And I agree entirely about alternative terminology.

      Like

  2. Miranda permalink
    June 8, 2015 2:45 pm

    I am also a lesbian and proud to say so.
    To me, it is just natural to love another woman.
    I believe that my love for Stella is no less than the love between a woman and a man.
    In fact, I’d say that it is stronger.
    When the law changes, we will marry.
    Why shouldn’t we?

    Like

  3. June 8, 2015 2:52 pm

    I am glad that the definition of marriage has changed in the past (and not bothered in the slightest that it probably will in the future). Why am I glad? Well, some of the examples of previous restrictions here –

    http://www.religioustolerance.org/hom_mar2.htm

    are horrible.

    Oh, and its, not it’s….!!

    😉

    Like

    • cllrmikehudson permalink*
      June 8, 2015 3:28 pm

      Smartarse. Yes, I know that language is a moveable feast, so why not have a title that is non-controversial.
      -Your lodgings have been cancelled…

      Like

  4. Fung-Hui Wong permalink
    June 9, 2015 2:14 pm

    in my home country of Malaysia, it is a crime to be gay.
    usually it is about male homosexuals. the gay women keep quiet.
    Lesbians just don’t come out in Malaysia.
    I honestly never met any gay people back home.
    It’s not a place to come out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

