Skip to content

Dog curry. Snake. And monkey hearts. Yum!

June 20, 2015

pork_pieI have to confess that I find the Australian Financial Review something of a dry read. Stocks and shares and financial finagling leave me cold.

But just occasionally the AFR gives me something (if you’ll forgive the pun) to get my teeth into …

Take, for instance, page 13 in this weekend’s world section, with the eye-catching headline “China’s new middle-class enraged by dog-eating festival”.

What red-blooded meat-eater could resist such an appetising article?  It seems that the provincial city of Yulin in is the midst of its annual  dog-meat festival…and an animal-lover attack, whose adherents say that the menu features strays or stolen pets who are treated abominably.

Let me emphasise that I would soon tire of a diet of beagle burgers and Pekingese patties,  but  I must confess that I was not too appalled when, after a delicious dinner at a remote northern Thai village many years ago,  I learnt that the main course had been canine in content.

That’s the price of international travel, and I have sampled such  various concoctions as snake in Hong Kong (where you choose the dish of the day from a stack of front-door cages) to monkey hearts in the pitch-dark dining hut in a remote jungle village in Sumatra. And friends shudder uncontrollably when I admit  a predilection for those wonderful Pommie pork pies (pictured above)…with more jelly the better.

It all depends on your tastebuds, of course. The very thought of oysters makes me shudder. And I blanch at the sight of mushrooms.

Bon appetit.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    June 22, 2015 4:31 pm

    what is it about (former) Poms and their pork pies?
    every Pom I’ve met has had a longing for a pork pie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

