Skip to content

Double Blues blue. Red faces all round!

July 6, 2015

As my wife knows, I am NEVER wrong. Ever!

So it was a matter of huge embarrassment and disbelief when Grumpier Than Ever, one of my indefatigable critics, was able to point the finger of derision about my recent story on the budget impact of Unley Oval.

The item? News that there were  budget lines for the repair and resealing of the timber flooring in both the Jack Oatey and Mackay grandstands, at a respective cost of $35,000 and $50,000.

Just one small issue of concern, dammit!.

As G.T.E (the other “Grumpy”) was delighted to point out, the timber flooring in the Oatey Stand is actually  er, that is, um…totally CONCRETE

My apologies to all concerned, and my thanks for the correction. The matter has been brought to the attention of Council’s administration.

My excuse? Never, in more than 35 years in Unley, have I  had reason or the  inclination to walk up into either grandstand…

P.s. A quick correction from Council administration. It was just a matter of transposition, apparently. It’s still the same number of dollars,  but for treatment of the concrete.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Janice permalink
    July 6, 2015 3:26 pm

    Your poor wife.

    Like

    • cllrmikehudson permalink*
      July 6, 2015 5:49 pm

      My “poor” wife? Rubbish. I am a model husband. Modest. Understanding. Supportive. Invariably right. She’s lucky to have me. Oh yes. AND DEVILISHLY HANDSOME.

      Like

  2. July 6, 2015 9:05 pm

    Come now, Mike. A critic, maybe. But, I actually have the utmost respect for anyone that serves community based organisations (like yours and mine) in whatever role they choose. Hopefully, one day it will be without aggregation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

