Skip to content

Victorious Sturt shout “Grumpy” a glass of red… and forgiveness

September 29, 2016

It came out of the  blue (sorry about the pun!), but the Double Blues team and  staff showed their true colours when they welcomed  one of their sternest critics to share the celebratory  gathering staged this afternoon.

Hijacked from  the Council carpark by former player and fellow Unley Councillor Rob “Lovely Legs” Sangster , I was (for someone who has been one of the club’s harshest critics in recent years)  abashed by the reception  I was given at the wingding staged by Council to acknowledge Sturt’s Adelaide Oval victory at the weekend.

What’s more, I was privileged to hold THE trophy and face the cameras with players, club officials and a smattering of gob-smacked  elected members.

What more can I say?. Except to express my admiration for Sturt  at overcoming a shaky start to the game and eventually win by a comfortable margin.

Meanwhile I urge those supporters who have not yet given the club financial support by purchasing one of those controversial oval pickets to boost the bank balance.

 

 

 

 

o

3 Comments leave one →
  1. marchudson permalink
    September 29, 2016 6:42 pm

    I won’t believe it till I see a photo.

    Like

  2. September 30, 2016 4:44 am

    I wish I had been able to get there.
    Next you’ll be working on a Sturt sausage sizzle fund raiser.

    Like

  3. October 1, 2016 3:43 pm

    Good news. You now good Sturt supporter. I look for you in blues scarfe and beeny.

    Like

Leave a Reply

