Skip to content

Hoarders of the world unite!

June 5, 2017

I admit it.

I am one of those obsessive collectors featured in today’s “Advertiser”.

It all began way way back in my boarding school days with a quest/crusade to accumulate the largest collection of those pesky colourful triangles  that adorned the six segments of cheese inside those circular cardboard  containers.

I’m not saying that fights broke out, but the bartering, bargaining and swapping that went on was fierce. And many a fourth-form friendship was fractured.

Fast forward to the present day, and I have survived a series of collecting crazes, ranging from Australian trader tokens of the early  days of Colonial commerce through to cigarette cards, Hermannsburg landscapes and those quaint circular pieces of vinyl. The latter containing an aural heaven of New Orleans jazz.

The tokens and cards are but a distant memory, unlike the  works of the Aboriginal artists and the Mississippi musicians.

Meanwhile, Her Indoors has the patience of a saint,  but I am not putting that to the test. Much as I would like to dip my toe into the historic motoring arena,  I will leave the veteran and vintage car field of nostalgia to our near neighbour…

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

